When should I license my dog?
The annual license renewal period is December 1st through midnight February 6, 2022. If you have a new puppy, you must buy a license by the time he reaches three months old. If you have just moved into Erie County or if you just acquired a new dog, you must purchase a license within 30 days.
Where can I purchase a dog license?
You can purchase a license by mail or in person at the County Auditor's office any time during the year. During renewal time, several convenient locations in Erie County are established to issue dog licenses. View the list of locations below or call the Auditor's Office at (419) 627-7746 to find out where dog licenses are sold.
|Locations Where You Can Purchase Dog Tags|
|Bay View Center||Bay View||419-626-2058|
|Civista Banking Co.||Castalia||419-684-5333|
|Civista Banking Co.||Berlin Heights||419-588-2095|
|Civista Banking Co.||Sandusky||419-625-4123|
|Dog Gone Gorgeous||Sandusky||567-283-5150|
|Dave's Food Mart||Milan||419-499-4200|
|Erie Co. Auditor’s Office||Erie Co. Office Bldg., Sandusky||419-627-7746|
|Firelands Animal Hospital||Huron||419-433-6210|
|Kelleys Island Market||Kelleys Island||419-746-2292|
|Lakeshore Vet Hospital||Sandusky||419-621-9080|
|M & M Boarding Kennel||Sandusky||419-626-9437|
|Milan Drive Thru||Milan||419-499-4475|
|Online Dog License Service||www.eriecounty.oh.gov/dogwarden|
|Pet Supplies Plus||3820 Milan Road, Sandusky||419-627-5570|
|Sandusky Animal Hospital||Sandusky||567-256-3615|
|Sandusky Food & Wine||Sandusky||419-365-2038|
|Sandusky License Bureau
||1050 Cleveland Road, Sandusky||419-625-1983|
|The Chelsea Dog||Sandusky||419-370-6737|
|York Animal Hospital||Bellevue||419-483-7480|
|2nd Roe Feeds & Seeds||Monroeville||419-499-3031|
Must my dog wear a tag?
Yes. Ohio law requires it. The Dog Warden may impound dogs without tags.
Why do I need to license my dog?
First, Ohio law requires that you license your dog. Second, a license tag attached to your dog's collar proves ownership and is your pet's ticket home if he gets lost.
What are dog license fees in Erie County?
$22.00 for a dog license. $110.00 for a kennel license (5 dogs).
What if I forget to buy my dog's license during the renewal period of December 1st through January 31st?
Ohio law requires a late fee - equal to the annual fee as imposed. In Erie County, this would mean that if you missed the January 31st deadline, you will have to pay $44 for a tag. There are no provisions in the law to waive the late fee.
Can I let my dog run loose if he is licensed?
NO! It is against the law. Ohio law specifies that all dogs must be confined to your property or under reasonable control - such as on a leash when being walked. It is not safe to let your dog roam the neighborhood.
What do I do if I find a lost dog?
If the dog is wearing a current Erie County license tag, call the Erie County Dog Warden at (419) 627-7607.
What if I move?
If you move within Erie County, please call (419) 627-7607 with your new address and telephone number so we can keep your information up-to-date. If you move to another county, call that County's Dog Warden's Office for licensing information.